Books I Love

The number one rule for writers – the ONE rule that everyone agrees upon and cannot be broken – is to read. I first heard this from Stephen King in On Writing, and I actually feel bad that I don’t read as much. I don’t read new material all that much, either, which I’m attempting to resolve. The main struggle at the moment is balancing reading and writing.

The books I read repeatedly – as in every year or so – are:

  • Richard Adams – Watership Down and Tales from Watership Down
  • Alice Hoffman – Practical Magic and Local Girls
  • Michael Crichton – Jurassic Park and The Lost World
  • Peter S. Beagle – The Last Unicorn

Other books I love, and I may have read once or twice (but nowhere near a complete list):

  • Arthur Golden – Memoirs of a Geisha
  • William Golding – Lord of the Flies
  • Eli Wiesel – Night
  • Isaac Asimov – Foundation (I’ve read two and a half of these)
  • J. R. R. Tolkien – The Hobbit
  • Alice Hoffman – The River King
  • Lois Lowry – The Giver
  • Zilpha Keatley Snyder – The Changeling
  • James Patterson – Kiss the Girls
  • Neil Gaiman – American Gods
  • Chuck Palahniuk – Fight Club
  • J. K. Rowling – Harry Potter (my fav. is PoA)
  • Kate Chopin – The Awakening
  • Patrick Sueskind – Perfume
  • Alice Sebold – Lovely Bones
  • Dan Brown – Angels & Demons (but not Da Vinci Code)
  • Harper Lee – To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Wilson Rawls – Where the Red Fern Grows
  • Barbara Kingsolver – The Poisonwood Bible
  • Richard Hooker – MASH (I wish it were M*A*S*H – alas)
Leave a Reply

