The Liebster Award, received and given.

I’ve been pegged by my Twitter friend, Angela D’Onofrio, as one of her “liebster” new bloggers (for those of you who don’t speak German, that means favorite). I am incredibly flattered and grateful that she chose me! It came as quite a surprise. Here are the details:

The Liebster Award is for new bloggers (those with fewer than 3,000 followers) to help us find new followers and friends in the blogging world. The rules are as follows:

1. Thank the blogger that nominated you
2. Answer the 11 questions that the blogger gave you
3. Nominate 5-11 bloggers that you think deserve the Liebster Award.
4. Let the bloggers know about their nomination
5. Give them 11 questions they should answer

Without further ado, here are the questions posed to her nominees, and my answers:

1. What was one of your most random, unexpected inspirations?

SPAM! How random is that? At one of my former jobs, we kept getting emails that said, “These three words will many any woman drop her panties for you,” and other variations thereof. A colleague and I were intending to collaborate on a project in which a group of boys set out to discover what the three words are. However, a plot never came together. It would have been hilarious.
2. Which book made you realize that you wanted to be an author?

It was either Wilson Rawl’s Where the Red Fern Grows or James Howe’s Bunnicula. I read both my first time through first grade (yes, I was held back), and I think that it around the time I wanted to start writing. My stories were all very animal-oriented, until I discovered violence, then sex.
3. Is there a book that you absolutely love that’s the exact opposite of your “usual fare”?

For someone who writes mostly thrillers, I don’t read many of them. However, the exact opposite of everything I know and love, I enjoyed reading a Christian romance novel set at the turn of the century about a woman who helped develop a more efficient steamboat. I can’t remember for the life of me what the title is.
4. Do you ever craft playlists for your writing projects?  (Please share some of the songs you’ve used, if you do!)

Yes! You can find that here.
5. Which authors do you read when you need to fine-tune your own writing voice?

Alice Hoffman, Richard Adams, or Michael Crichton, depending on the piece. I am daunted by the idea of writing in the first person, but when I choose to do so, I will turn to Joe Lansdale.
6. What would your dream workspace look like?

A small, uncluttered room, with a high desk, and a chair I can pull my feet up into – unlike the one I have now. There will also be a space heater tucked somewhere.
7. Obligatory Writing Beverage of Choice Question! (Bonus points if it isn’t actually stereotypically coffee!)

Angry Orchard’s Crisp Apple Cider, or Hop’n Mad, depending on my mood. If it’s early, coffee. If I might go out later, Pepsi.
8. CDs or MP3s (or, hey, vinyl or cassette)?

I will buy CD’s and burn them onto my iPod. How does that fit in?
9. What’s your favorite Disney movie? (The former aspiring animator in me NEEDS to know.)

The Lion King, no contest.
10. If you had to model your entire wardrobe after any fictional character, who would it be?

Lorelai Gilmore from Gilmore Girls. She rocked jeans and t-shirts, but she also had some lovely business suits.
11. Is there a theme which persistently creeps into your work, whether you want it to or not? If so: what is it?  If not: tell me your favorite to read about!

All of my works appear to have some under-current of darkness and violence, whether it fits the genre or not.

However, the oddest thing that stands out is father-daughter relationships (positive and negative). Nothing spectacular stands out about my own father-daughter relationship, so I’m not certain where that may have sprung from.

 

Now, to fulfill the prophecy… I mean, to follow the rules…

Bloggers I’ve selected (I was not certain how to find the numbers of people following your blog, so forgive me if it’s a massive amount):

Nan Monroe – http://nanmonroe.com/

Robert Orange – https://wordsbyorange.wordpress.com/

Beatrice James – https://outtahere.wordpress.com/

Kiarra M. Taylor – http://authorkiarramtaylor.com/blog/

Rob Killam – https://rockthewaddle.wordpress.com/

Here are my questions:

  1. Are there any concepts or themes that you have difficulty writing? (For example, writing women or portraying graphic violence.)
  2. If you could have any author review your book, alive or dead, who would it be?
  3. If you could travel abroad for a writer’s retreat, where would you go?
  4. Do you have any characters who invade your other works?
  5. Do you have any projects that you have trouble finishing, but you keep going back to? If so, describe it. What is holding you up?
  6. Do you have a dream project that you’re just not ready to tackle?
  7. Is there any one thing that, if eliminated, would make you a more successful writer? (For example, dayjob, crippling fear of failure, inability to write a query letter?)
  8. Where is the oddest place you have bunkered down to write?
  9. Is there any single writing skill you wish you could have mastered or part of the process you would like to streamline?
  10. What is your favorite part of the writing process – besides the writing itself?
  11. Do you listen to music as you write? If so, what are your preferred artists/genres?
Leave a Reply

