July Camp NaNoWriMo

Happy first of July and happy first day of Camp NaNoWriMo!

For those of you not familiar with the concept, or who need a refresher, NaNoWriMo = National Novel Writing Month, which is in November of every year. This event challenges people – anyone, not just writers – to write a 50,000 word novel (novels are generally >40k) in the span of one month, by setting small goals (about 1600 words per day) and tracking their progress.

NaNoWriMo is an official organization, but participation is 100% free. You can learn more at their website here: http://nanowrimo.org/

NaNoWriMo also holds bootcamps in April and July. These camps are designed to simulate the NaNoWriMo experience, to prepare you by helping you anticipate your writing pace, what components of your novel need to be prepared beforehand, and give you a feel for the process of creating a project and reporting your progress. For more information on the bootcamps, swing by http://campnanowrimo.org/.

The best aspect of Camp NaNoWriMo? The cabins! When you sign up for Camp, you have the option of joining a cabin, which is literally a private chat room. You can have the site sort you into a cabin based on the details of your writing project (generally genre), or you can create or join an exclusive cabin (people can only join if invited).

I confess, cabins are hit-or-miss. My first cabin was excellent: We cheered each other on, shared samples, untangled plotholes, and helped break the block. I made a couple of good friends, and we continued being friends outside the cabin on Twitter. My other cabins were more meh, but it was still nice to pop in every once in a while and see everyone’s progress.

This month, I had the honor of being included in the Dark Lit cabin. My original project was going to be revising Two Guns, although I have yet to figure out how to track revisions with their system. However, Two Guns is still with my editors, so I will let it stew with them. Instead, I am going to work on my historical romance, working title Sweet NOTHING. Fortunately, I did not get kicked out of the cabin the instant I suggested changing gears.

If you’re curious or feeling up to the challenge, I highly recommend signing up! Mosey on over to http://campnanowrimo.org/ and peruse the site. There are no consequences for not following through, no one will slap your wrist if you decide you’re not interested after the first few days.

If you want a hand to hold as you’re getting started, hit me up on Twitter, @JettimusMaximus (click for link), or on my author page on FaceBook, www.facebook.com/JettimusMaximus (I don’t have FB on my phone, so I don’t respond as quickly). I’m not 100% certain, but if you sign up, you should also be able message me using the site itself: http://campnanowrimo.org/campers/jetterfly (I cannot, however, invite you into my cabin, as I’m not the den mother).

If you have any questions about NaNoWriMo that I haven’t covered, or if you believe I left anything out, drop me a comment and let me know!


For a scene from my current Camp NaNoWriMo project, Sweet NOTHING, click HERE.

For a scene from my former Camp project, Two Guns, click HERETwo Guns is the sequel to my horror novel (and my first-ever Camp NaNo project) COLOSSUS.

Please check out COLOSSUS, now available in all Amazon marketplaces: click HERE for the universal link to your local Amazon marketplace. If you have already read it, please leave a review!

Leave a Reply

