NaNoWriMo 2016

I haven’t given y’all an actual update in a while. Please forgive me. I know y’all are chomping at the bit for MORE JETTE. *snickersnort* I’m in the process of moving from Atlanta to Washington, DC, so have mercy on my soul. I should resume normal functions over next week (hopefully).

Tuesday is 11/01, and the first day of NaNoWriMo. It will be my second actual NaNo (as opposed to the bootcamps).

twogunsFor my first NaNo, I finished/rewrote Two Guns, the second book in the Heather Stokes series. I won by the skin of my teeth, despite a 23k-word head start (Yes, I cheat so badly). I finished by adding material I had decided to remove, then realized I had other material I had removed with the intention of re-added, then eventually decided most of it should stay anyway. It’s complicated. Either way, the sad fact is, Two Guns is finished and revised, but still doesn’t feel right, and needs to be rewritten… again.

For this NaNo, I am going to finish RUIN, the third ruinbook in the Heather Stokes series, and the final book in the core trilogy. I have 18k words so far, and a skeletal outline. I know where it has to end, and several of the beats I want to hit, but I’m not certain if they will all work. I have a lot of psychology to work around.

I may also carve out some extra time to write my COLOSSUS screenplay. I wanted to make that my project, but writing it should – theoretically – only take a few days, since I’m simply boiling down what I already have into action and dialogue. Perhaps I will blog on writing screenplays after I get settled in my new home…

I’d love to hear about your NaNo experiences, past and present. What did you complete last year? What are you planning this year? Have you done any prep and how? Leave a comment below, or @ me on Twitter: @JettimusMaximus.


Want more?

Like my page on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!

Check out my publications on Amazon!

colossus Flint Ranch Salvage

Leave a Reply

