Abandoned Projects

I hate abandoning writing projects, although up until two years ago, they were all I had. I keep all of my past material, jots of plot lines and snippets of scenes, in manila envelopes in a file crate (I keep my Heather crateStokes material in a separate crate).

Every once in a while, I pick through them and try to remember where I was going or what was going on. I enjoy seeing how much I’ve matured as a writer, and every once in a while I think of a project I want to pull out and bring back to life. Since I kept that material, it is easier.

Do not throw away material.

I know several writers who regret throwing material away, but no one who regrets keeping it. Even if you hate it or hit a wall, don’t trash it. Tuck it away somewhere and forget about it. You might encounter something that makes the idea you had click in a way it hadn’t before, or makes you remember why you thought it was a great idea in the first place.

Do not throw your idea away. Pick it back up, dust it off, and use your more polished writing skills to finish it up.


Want more?

Like my page on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!

Check out my Wattpad and publications on Amazon! Click on the covers for the individual links:

colossus Flint Ranch Salvage

One thought on “Abandoned Projects

Leave a Reply

